Icon Logo Gun Mart

Kral Demon

Kral Demon

Range Right Ltd were previously the importers of Norica Air Rifles but since that association has been dissolved I assumed they’d be leaving the air rifle market. Not so; their association with the Midland Gun Company has now given them an air rifle to promote and distribute, with more to follow. So here we have the Turkish-made Kral Demon, a fixed barrel, under-lever design with a performance level that far outweighs it’s highly affordable price tag!

New Age Springer

It’s no surprise that like many of these new age springers, the rifle is dressed in a black synthetic stock. However, it really is eye-catching and the design has obviously been well thought out, showing some useful features.

The Demon boasts a well styled, medium height cheek piece with a thick ventilated black rubber butt pad. The forend is slim and lengthy but the features that really stand out are the generous amount of chequering at the pistol grip, the raised/ribbed rubber panels on the forend and fluting along the top edge for your finger tips to nestle into. The panels are exactly where they should be for a sensible leading hand hold making this one of the better designed synthetic stocks I’ve ever tested.

The rifle features ‘Tru-Glo’ fibre optic open sights, but even here there’s a difference with many other models that use these types of ‘irons.’ For a change, the front sight, which sits atop of the ABS muzzle brake is green and not red, while the adjustable rear unit uses red to give the contrast.

Slide Action

The Kral’s under-lever is retained in a slightly different way to most other air rifles; rather than using a sprung ball, the release mechanism slides rearwards. The catch is ridged, so it’s easy to hold and move, so you can cock the rifle. I found the cocking operation very smooth and straightforward to accomplish for what is a full power air rifle; this is due to the articulated linkage it uses. Once cocked you manually rotate the breech cover (this has a lug on top for easy operation) in order to load the pellet. Once you’ve thumbed a pellet into the 18” barrel, you then manually rotate the metal breech cover back over from the right to the closed position on the left. The rifle is now cocked and ready to fire.

story continues below...

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kral Demon - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

The trigger is a surprisingly good quality 2-stage, non-adjustable unit with a nicely curved metal blade and ‘in-guard’ manual safety catch. Pull the catch back to put the rifle on safe and push forward to put into fire mode. The guard itself is of a generous size so the two separate blades (trigger and safety) aren’t too close together, making individual operation easy and more importantly safe.

Now back to the firing cycle; as any preconceived ideas I might have had that this would be a ‘bang-clang’ affair went straight out of the window. The trigger releases crisply with no creep, so one less thing to worry about when breaking the shot. I was so impressed on first inspection of the iron sights that I lingered longer getting a precise zero. This is how I mainly tested the rifle, as I found these ‘irons’ excellent for ranges out to 20-yds and that’s how I’d personally use this air rifle. Perfect for ratting and feral pigeon shooting in gloomy areas thanks to those fibre optic inserts. However, should you wish to fit a scope the cylinder is grooved and comes fitted with a removable arrestor block. A thoughtful addition to the package, but as recoil was relatively low I wouldn’t feel it was needed.

Keeping An ‘Open’ Mind

After setting a zero at 20-yds with the iron sights I soon realised the rifle has a smooth firing cycle for such a pocket-friendly, full power .22 calibre design and was soon making ragged ¾” groups at my set zero range. This performance was obviously aided by the low recoil that is capably handled by the ventilated rubber butt pad and the effectiveness of the sights. The more I used the rifle I also realised muzzle report wasn’t loud, neither was there any internal spring noises as I took a shot - only the expected thud as the piston reached the end of its travel along the air cylinder.

So, after a pleasurable time shooting against targets I took the Demon to a place that always holds a few feral pigeons and rats. It was here ‘beading’ targets at different angles that I also began to realise that even though the gun is a lengthy 45.75” from butt to muzzle it handles very nicely indeed, and at 7.6lbs un-scoped is light and fast to use.

Conclusions

To sum up, I’d say the Demon is a decent air rifle that can make its presence felt in a market that’s saturated with this type of ‘back to basics’ designs. It’s accurate, handles well, has excellent iron sights and performs far better than some makes I’ve tried costing twice as much. The Demon is to be eventually made available in a wooden stock and such is the company’s faith in the rifle that it comes with a 3-year conditional warranty. It’ll be interesting to see how Range Right progress with their new line of airguns…

PRICE: £129 (at time of test)

gun
features

  • Name: Demon
  • Action type: Single shot, spring powered, under-lever cocking
  • Calibre: .22” only
  • Stock: Synthetic sporter
  • Sights: Fibre optic enhanced open sights and grooved for scope mounting
  • Barrel: 18”

16 Comments

  • for the free brawl stars gems at http://brawlstarshacked.com/ online you would get the gems and chips.

    Default profile image
    jenyy
    18 Aug 2017 at 09:37 PM
  • I have been seeing that after clash royale now supercell next game changer would be this <a href="http://brawlstarshacked.com/">free brawl stars gems</a> online here .

    Default profile image
    jenny
    18 Aug 2017 at 09:36 PM
  • Des a box mainspring on for in a oral demon .22?

    Default profile image
    Lewis Beeston
    21 May 2016 at 11:51 AM
  • Took the Demon out hunting with at night open sights as my scope was acting wierd. Couldnt see the sights for love or money even with torchlight.I know those tru-glo sights look cool in low light but in darkness they are useless.

    Default profile image
    GARY PRESSMAN
    23 Jul 2014 at 04:13 PM
  • It certainly seems to be a good buy. Watch out for new reviews of the Kral Demon and Kral Devil by Mark Camoccio, coming soon.

    Default profile image
    Pat Farey
    28 Feb 2012 at 12:51 AM
  • I have owned a KRAL Devil .22 (almost the same gun as the demon) for quite some time now and think it is an amazing gun for the money (£120 paid). Accuracy is very good and I find the Milbro Select pellets fit the gun perfectly and allow for very close to 12 ft/lbs chrono readings. If I have any complaint and its a very small complaint it is that due to a synthetic stock its a little muzzle heavy, not a problem for me but my sons find it a little hard to hold the gun level. You could buy a more expensive gun and possible have better accuracy but you have to ask yourself 'am i really that good a shot????'

    Default profile image
    Phil M
    26 Feb 2012 at 11:04 AM
  • I had a kral demon for a short while.I know it fits in as a budget priced full power spring air rifle,but it is very crudely made,harsh recoil and accuracy past 20 yards is appaling.I ran the air rifle in with over a 1000 pellets of various brands ie webley ,air arms and crosman etc. and even with these quality brands could not get good enough accuracy with what I would consider to use against vermin.It is a case of what you pay for.I traded it in and got a simple webley xocet in .22 carbine.The webley is no frills,but you cant compare the overall performance.The xocet is a great little rifle that was very little more in cost than the kral.Id recommend anyone looking for a allround well built basic air rifle for target and various hunting work,save that bit more and buy a b.s.a. supersport or webley birmingham springer.They do exactly the required job.

    Default profile image
    richard rees
    28 Oct 2010 at 04:06 PM
  • On a spring powered air rifle a long barrel will increase drag (friction) on the pellet lowering power (given the same internal set-up) and with no gain in accuracy, so many people choose shorter barrelled rifles - i.e. carbines. A 10" rifled barrel (or less) is all that you need to get enough spin on a pellet for accuracy, unfortunately at that length a break-barrel would be difficult to cock, so carbine barrels usually start at around 14" or so.

    Some people prefer the balance of longer rifles, and like a longer barrel with more weight up front. When open sights are fitted a rifle would obviously give you a longer sight base than a carbine.

    So you pay your money and make your choice according to your own tastes - in my case it's a carbine every time.

    Default profile image
    Pat Farey
    11 Mar 2010 at 02:30 AM
  • Why does everyone say that a carbine version would be better for this? Sorry for my lack of knowledge but how would that be better exactly? Ease of use, portability, practicality? Would that however decrease accuracy, increase or decrease power output? Help much appreciated!

    Default profile image
    Mike
    10 Mar 2010 at 12:37 PM
  • The rifle is set to give power up to the UK legal limit of 12ft/lbs so depending on the pellet used it should give between 11 ft/ lbs and 12 ft/lbs. Actual fps will again depend on what pellets you choose to use.

    Default profile image
    Pat Farey
    09 Mar 2010 at 06:44 PM
  • how many fps does it shoot

    Default profile image
    Robert Smith
    08 Mar 2010 at 03:49 AM
  • We don't reply to all the posts, but if we can add something of use or interest to the thread, we will try.

    We did run an 'ask the expert' section in our sister magazine "Shooting Sports" for quite some time, it was discontinued for a while but I understand that it will be resuming soon.

    Regarding Norica, they are now imported by Highland Outdoors. This company is really 'go ahead' so you may see a few more models making an appearance in the UK.

    Default profile image
    pat farey
    31 May 2009 at 02:38 PM
  • 3 year warranty?
    Please advise these guys to get a carbine version on the market as they will sell like hot cakes,I would probably buy one and have it cut down which would void the warranty(not good but at this price?),carbine 10-13"barrel with screw cut ,( I will take 3 please).

    Default profile image
    jay
    30 May 2009 at 07:34 PM
  • 129 bucks is worth a go.What else is there under lever wise for this kind of money?BAM/SMK?

    This is also a nice looker too,some notes on the blueing quality would be nice as well as consistency (bit to much info for this money?)may be but If this was a carbine version or if they made one in carbine format I would buy one tomorrow,regardless of any review,too pretty to pass up at that price.

    Shame they give up on the norica as there is a few nice noricas that never got over here which would of sold,with out a doubt,some even had turkish walnut stocks on (turkish walnut is easily 800 pound for a blank minimum)yet these rifles had them on and were expected to retail under 200..

    If the recoil is that minimum and it is a full powered (our limit) Rifle I can see this going big if advertised right.They need to get one to every gun shop because if I seen a carbine version of this on the shelf I would buy it purely on looks.(seriously)

    I did not know you guys replied to the posts pat?

    May be good to open a section where we can ask you guys questions?

    I for one have always admired Gun mart for there honesty on there reviews and if this had problems they would not of held back,if they think it is good it is good if they think its rubbish they will say!!
    For these reasons I will only ever buy Gun mart.
    I wish you guys all the best and please keep up the good honest work!

    Default profile image
    jay
    30 May 2009 at 07:30 PM
  • The Demon action may look a little like some other models like the Gamo CFX, but apparantely it is all made in Turkey by Kral.

    Default profile image
    pat farey
    08 May 2009 at 11:11 PM
  • i think it is a gamo cfx action with a few cosmetic touches. as is the bsa polaris. if it is as good as my bsa polaris it will be excellent!! as accurate as a tx or a 77/97 but for half the money!

    Default profile image
    nick
    07 May 2009 at 05:09 PM


guns for sale

Buy & Sell Online. Advertise your guns and accessories and be seen by 1000’s of buyers..... Buying a Gun or Accessory, Choose from 1000's of items for sale....

Military 1st - Shop Now!
Military 1st - Shop Now!
Tactical Firearms
Arrow