Icon Logo Gun Mart

Kofs Sceptre SXE

Kofs Sceptre SXE

Kofs is a relatively new name to emerge from that ever-increasing deluge of Turkish guns to hit these shores; but boy, have they made a big impression! So much so, that I know gunsmiths that sold out instantly as soon as they stocked them on the selves. There is good reason for this, as the Kofs brands represent very good value for money, like any Turkish gun, but these really are good value.

The Sceptre range is available in 12-, 20-, 28-gauge and .410 and also with a choice of 28- or 30-inch barrels and interestingly at all the same price, £499 or £599 for an ejector model, as here. They are also available as left handers too. I picked the 28-gauge ejector SXE model, as 28g and .410 are my favourite calibres and I have a lot of ammunition types of each to test.

Action

This is an all alloy construction for both strength and lightness, with the necessary inset steel inserts on the bearing surfaces, i.e. around the pining pins on the back face as a long oval plate. It’s the standard monobloc construction and locks with a full lower bite into the lumps. The overall finish is a satin silver that is very ornately machine engraved. The temptation is to over engrave these days and the Sceptre has good coverage with the usual scroll and acanthus leaves to the side faces and base but leaving the borders and the top tang plain. This looks nice and actually for a cheap gun is really well executed. The top lever itself is plain, no chequering and is blackened for contrast. The safety is automatic as the top lever is opened and the raised safety lever has shallow chequering and indicates bottom barrel in the right position and top to the left. The nonauto safety is £100 cheaper.

The trigger is stiff but soon loosened up after the testing but still had a 7.25lbs pull weight, no concern on a shotgun unlike a rifle. The trigger guard is aluminium like the rest of the action and blacked like the top lever. It all looks like there has been a lot of thought put into the design process and not just to knock out another cheapie.

Barrels and Chokes

Available in 28- or 30-inch barrel lengths, I had the 30-inch model, although having shot a few 28-gauges now I quite fancy a 26-incher with open chokes for wood/vermin work. Like all 28-gauges, they are 2¾-inch chambers and have a hardened chrome-lined bore with flush fit chokes at the muzzle.

They come with five chokes, so all clays and game are covered. Being 28-gauge, they have a petite profile, which is very pleasing to the eye, as too is the satin black finish. Smart and highly practical, at least for me whilst hunting.

The mid rib is well-fitted and ventilated with seven vents and then solid under the forend to the action, whilst the top rib is 7mm wide, with a serrated finish and has a gold bead up front for sighting.

story continues below...

The ejectors are well formed and activated via the sprung lower bars in the action frame and are a bit slow but no worries.

Stock

Turkish guns always have nice walnut stocks, both in quality or figure, as well as being correctly finished. This model had rather plain walnut but with good strength through the pistol grip and flowing grain that accented the overall mid brown colour. A rubbed oiled finish is good and practical too for a bit of repair if scratched out in the woods

The large, solid black recoil pad negates what little recoil there was, but its tactile nature did snag a little when shouldered.

The forend is correctly profiled for the smaller gauges and has two large chequered panels to the side and Schnabel forend, they are both nice looking and stops the leading hand slipping forward. It is removed via a small inset catch that is first pushed in and then lifted to release the forend from the barrel catch. Similarly, the pistol grip area is not too slim and has no palm swell, so fits a variety of hand sizes and has a good long rake that helps with good handling. There is cast to the right and this puts the eye directly down the barrel/rib.

Field tests

The Sceptre is delightfully lightweight at 6.25lbs and literally leaps up into the shoulder. Ordinarily, lightness means stiff recoil but both the stock design and 28-gauge quell this to a mild shove at the shoulder. The Kofs handles extremely well with a good natural swing, and as said earlier, the eye is right down that rib. I am not keen on auto safeties but soon got over that when I saw the pattern boards. I fitted a ½ and full choke and shot the boards with the ½ choke.

First up were the really good Hull High Pheasant load in 7 shot size and 2¾-inch or 70mm case length and holds 23-grams with a fibre wadding system. On the pattern boards at 30-yards I had 72 pellets in the inner circle and well spread and 131 pellets in the outer for 203 total for the No. 7 shot. There were no holes and a good overall spread of shot.

Next up were the E J Churchill Hell Fire Game, which are expensive but with good reason, as they use fibre or wool wadding with both having copper plated lead shot to increase range and lessen deformation. These are 70mm cases with a 15mm high brass head and I had the wool load is 27-grams No. 5 shot, which at 30-yards achieved a total of 161 pellets on the board. 86 pellets struck the outer sector and a healthy 75 hit the central 15-inches. This was a very impressive cartridge in the Kofs but at £541 per thousand, that would nearly buy the Kofs out right!

The Eley Grand Prix 16- gram load is available in fibre and a 67mm case length and No. 6 shot, which is very light and a good close-range woods cartridge or woodcock. At 30-yards a total of 135 pellets on target with 79 No. 6 shot size pellets around the outer portion of the 30-inch circle and to the centre were 56 pellets. Very light recoiling and low noise. Finally, the Fiocchi F28 round uses a 2¾-inch plastic case and plastic wad and is a cost-effective and good allround 28-gauge cartridge. The 24 grams of No. 7.5 shot for this round on the boards at 30-yards and the ½ Choke shot pellets in the inner 15- inch circle containing 77 pellets and the outer 30-inch had 190 pellets for a total of 267 hits.

Conclusion

Everyone I had spoken too about the Kofs range of shotguns have been impressed. For the money, it is hard to find fault really, a long-term test may find fault, but I doubt it. A great price for any calibre and especially in the smaller gauges the 28g or 410 would make a superb vermin tool, not only for the smaller framed but seasoned shooters too. Buy one, they are going fast!

  • Kofs Sceptre SXE - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kofs Sceptre SXE - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kofs Sceptre SXE - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kofs Sceptre SXE - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Kofs Sceptre SXE - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

gun
features

  • Name: Kofs Sceptre SXE
  • Calibre: 28-gauge
  • Barrel: 30-inch, ejectors
  • Chokes: Five supplied plus key
  • Top rib width: 7mm
  • Weight: 6.25lbs
  • Length: 47-inches
  • Chamber: 2¾-inches
  • Type: Over and Under
  • Action: Alloy and steel inserts
  • Stock: Walnut, Oil finished
  • Length of pull: 14.25-inches
  • Recoil Pad: Solid black rubber
  • Price: £599
  • Contact: Sportsman Gun Centre www.sportsmanguncentre.co.uk

45 Comments

  • This blog is so nice to me. I will keep on coming here again and again. Visit my link as well.. 10 fakty, które każdy powinien wiedzieć odetosil

    Default profile image
    Joan Ruiz
    25 Jun 2019 at 04:00 PM
  • SEO SERVICES

    Default profile image
    Anthony Howell
    25 Jun 2019 at 03:59 PM
  • <a href="https://www.fiverr.com/blueentseo">SEO SERVICES</a>

    Default profile image
    Tammy Burke
    25 Jun 2019 at 03:58 PM
  • Nice blog and absolutely outstanding. You can do something much better but i still say this perfect.Keep trying for the best. https://www.itishome.in.th/papistop/

    Default profile image
    Grace Long
    23 Jun 2019 at 10:38 AM
  • <a href="https://www.seoclerk.com/user/yamuqetou">SEO SERVICES</a>

    Default profile image
    Phillip King
    23 Jun 2019 at 10:37 AM
  • Assignment help is one where you can get full writing services for the students. Our experts even write for PhD students also. In which different types of writing are present: exposition composing, Dissertation Writing Help, Research Paper Assistance, Analysis, Literature Review, articles, and so forth. Check review here https://www.allassignmenthelp.com/reviews

    Default profile image
    Adam Thomas
    11 Jun 2019 at 01:54 PM
  • Your blog has chock-a-block of useful information. I liked your blog’s content as well as its look. In my opinion, this is a perfect blog in all aspects. https://sextoyuytin.com/

    Default profile image
    Toy
    09 Jun 2019 at 09:38 AM
  • There are a lot dissertation ınternet sites over the internet imagine you’re purchase not surprisingly discussed on your online site. payday loans online direct lenders from UnitedFinances.com

    Default profile image
    charlos john
    03 Jun 2019 at 08:52 PM
  • Excellent post. I was reviewing this blog continuously, and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information especially this page. Thank you and good luck. 안전토토

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    02 Jun 2019 at 09:39 PM
  • I would like to say that this blog really convinced me to do it! Thanks, very good post. <a href="http://www.free.co.rs/vladimir.vrbaski/en/">vladimir vrbaski republika</a>

    Default profile image
    Saqib 12
    02 Jun 2019 at 07:53 PM
  • Great job for publishing such a beneficial web site. Your web log isn’t only useful but it is additionally really creative too. 토토사이트

    Default profile image
    seo
    18 May 2019 at 10:51 PM
  • Only strive to mention one’s content can be as incredible. This clarity with your post is superb!  Thanks a lot, hundreds of along with you should go on the pleasurable get the job done. UnitedFinances

    Default profile image
    Hassan1102
    16 May 2019 at 06:44 PM
  • I found your this post while searching for information about blog-related research ... It’s a good post .. keep posting and updating information.
    Office Cleaning

    Default profile image
    Office Cleaning
    12 May 2019 at 06:33 PM
  • Many females who have a lot of weight are very disturbed because they cannot or even walk properly. http://topjoggingessentials.com

    Default profile image
    davidvilley10
    04 May 2019 at 11:51 AM
  • Want to bu "Gmail Pva Account"https://www.pvaxone.com/
    and can’t find a proper platform? Yes you are at right place.

    Default profile image
    davidvilley10
    04 May 2019 at 11:48 AM
  • this is realy nice to read it ,if any body want to buy any type of phone verified accounts visit here <a title="where to buy twitter accounts" href="http://www.instapva.com">where to buy twitter accounts</a>

    Default profile image
    davidvilley10
    04 May 2019 at 11:43 AM
  • You have a real talent for writing unique content.  I like how you think and the way you express your views in this article.  I am impressed by your writing style a lot. Thanks for making my experience more beautiful.
    Burlington Party Bus

    Default profile image
    shams
    25 Apr 2019 at 12:48 PM
  • I have read all the comments and suggestions posted by the visitors for this article are very fine,We will wait for your next article so only.Thanks!
    voir film

    Default profile image
    kate
    23 Apr 2019 at 06:43 PM
  • I have read all the comments and suggestions posted by the visitors for this article are very fine,We will wait for your next article so only.Thanks! <a href="https://voirfilm.life/">voir film</a>

    Default profile image
    kate
    23 Apr 2019 at 06:37 PM
  • I admire this article for the well-researched content and excellent wording. I got so involved in this material that I couldn’t stop reading. I am impressed with your work and skill. Thank you so much. Cheapigfollowers

    Default profile image
    Kate
    23 Apr 2019 at 07:34 AM
  • Wow i can say that this is another great article as expected of this blog.Bookmarked this site.. not cheap essay writing service

    Default profile image
    Kate
    21 Apr 2019 at 08:11 AM
  • I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.
    kissanime

    Default profile image
    Shan
    17 Apr 2019 at 06:28 PM
  • There are a lot of blogs over the Internet. But I can surely say that your blog is amazing in all. It has all the qualities that a perfect blog should have.
    taras shevchenko üniversitesi

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    12 Apr 2019 at 12:14 PM
  • In the world of www, there are countless blogs. But believe me, this blog has all the perfection that makes it unique in all. I will be back again and again. Situs Poker Terpercaya

    Default profile image
    Poker
    09 Apr 2019 at 05:39 AM
  • In the world of www, there are countless blogs. But believe me, this blog has all the perfection that makes it unique in all. I will be back again and again. <a href="http://dnd.poker/">Situs Poker Terpercaya</a>

    Default profile image
    ROBERT
    09 Apr 2019 at 05:38 AM
  • In the world of www, there are countless blogs. But believe me, this blog has all the perfection that makes it unique in all. I will be back again and again. <a href="http://dnd.poker/">Situs Poker Terpercaya</a>

    Default profile image
    ROBERT
    09 Apr 2019 at 05:37 AM
  • COFS SCEPTRE SXE Right. Sir, i love the guns and thanks for interact it with me.
    https://www.hostingplanscompared.com/"&gt;

    Default profile image
    Hosting Plans Compared Reviews
    28 Mar 2019 at 06:39 AM
  • You have a real talent for writing unique content.  I like how you think and the way you express your views in this article.  I am impressed by your writing style a lot. Thanks for making my experience more beautiful.
    https://s3-us-west-1.amazonaws.com/sunnycollege/programming-social-media.pdf

    Default profile image
    Hassan1102
    27 Mar 2019 at 05:31 PM
  • Thanks for your insight for your fantastic posting. I’m exhilarated I have taken the time to see this. It is not enough; I will visit your site every day.
    https://www.eurostaryurtdisiegitim.net/ogrenci-pasaport-harci-hangi-bankaya-yatirilir/

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    20 Mar 2019 at 04:25 PM
  • You have lots of knowledge about guns its a unique content why you cannot promoting it on bing search engine here is lots of traffic i have some bing promotional offer code you can use them to promote your content on bing https://www.couponstechie.com/promo-codes/bingads

    Default profile image
    bing ads coupons
    13 Mar 2019 at 09:17 AM
  • You make so many great points here that I read your article a couple of times. Your views are in accordance with my own for the most part. This is great content for your readers.
    https://www.yoorshop.hosting

    Default profile image
    Hassan1102
    04 Mar 2019 at 05:40 PM
  • Outstanding article!  I want people to know just how good this information is in your article. Your views are much like my own concerning this subject. I will visit daily your blog because I know. It may be very beneficial for me.
    https://123movies.work/
    123movies online

    Default profile image
    Hassan1102
    03 Mar 2019 at 03:16 PM
  • Outstanding article!  I want people to know just how good this information is in your article. Your views are much like my own concerning this subject. I will visit daily your blog because I know. It may be very beneficial for me.
    https://www.instagram.com/lennon.river/

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    27 Feb 2019 at 06:09 PM
  • This article was written by a real thinking writer without a doubt.  I agree many of the with the solid points made by the writer.  I’ll be back day in and day for further new updates.
    https://toptenproductreview.com/best-dog-sunglasses-review/

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    20 Feb 2019 at 06:01 PM
  • What a sensational blog! This blog is too much amazing in all aspects. Especially, it looks awesome and the content available on it is utmost qualitative.
    http://moggys-spot.tumblr.com/post/141608661736/test-du-asus-rp-ac56-ac1208

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    18 Feb 2019 at 06:24 PM
  • There are a lot of blogs over the Internet. But I can surely say that your blog is amazing in all. It has all the qualities that a perfect blog should have.
    http://www.snickerattheswine.com/
    write my essay for me

    Default profile image
    Anna Sally
    16 Feb 2019 at 06:53 PM
  • There are a lot of blogs over the Internet. But I can surely say that your blog is amazing in all. It has all the qualities that a perfect blog should have. <a href="https://pvamart.com/">instagram pva accounts</a>

    Default profile image
    Hassan1102
    13 Feb 2019 at 01:01 PM
  • You put really very helpful information. Thank you for posting such a great article!
    http://pogogamesplay.com/

    Default profile image
    ariana pham
    11 Jan 2019 at 04:04 AM
  • You put really very helpful information. Thank you for posting such a great article!
    http://pogogamesplay.com/

    Default profile image
    ariana pham
    11 Jan 2019 at 04:03 AM
  • Assignment help Reviews has helped many students to choose the right website. It has also helped the students to score good grades in their academics. Our writing services review will help you to find the best writing websites for your success.

    http://assignmentshelpreview.com/allassignmenthelp-com-reviews/

    Default profile image
    Assignment help Reviews
    08 Jan 2019 at 11:14 AM
  • I used to visit this website because of this web page content genuine information https://soundcloudmp3.online

    Default profile image
    alana bui
    03 Dec 2018 at 10:05 AM
  • Wow! The way it looks really impress me so much! I would like to have something like that and to leave the information about my experience for https://slots4life.wordpress.com/ where I actually prefer to share the knowledge I have.

    Default profile image
    Eric Koertig
    01 Nov 2018 at 10:34 PM
  • This content is very informative for me. Thank you so much for sharing. Need Allassignmenthelp? Allassignmenthelp Provide best all <a href="https://www.allassignmenthelp.com/">Assignment help</a> to the student at cheapest cost.

    Default profile image
    Michael Jones
    18 Oct 2018 at 06:43 AM
  • The Kroger Company, or simply Kroger, is an American retailing company founded by Bernard Kroger in 1883 in Cincinnati, Ohio. https://wwwgreatpeopleme.xyz/greatpeople-me-login/

    Default profile image
    potagi
    06 Oct 2018 at 10:27 PM


guns for sale

Buy & Sell Online. Advertise your guns and accessories and be seen by 1000’s of buyers..... Buying a Gun or Accessory, Choose from 1000's of items for sale....

Shirts for the tactical gentleman - see more
Shirts for the tactical gentleman - see more
Tactical Firearms
Arrow