Icon Logo Gun Mart

Mossberg 500 pump action in .410

Mossberg 500 pump action in .410

When I think about a pump-action shotgun, I instantly picture either the Remmy 870 or the Mossberg 500, which are both iconic pumps that are still in production today, in one guise or another.

Mossberg’s 500 series is the real backbone of the pump-action design as it has been utilised for so many purposes including sporting, turkey, wildfowl and tactical. There have even been slug and silenced versions.

I usually shoot the Mossy 500 as a fully silenced version as the pump-action configuration and easy barrel replacements afford a very cost-effective and reliable silenced shotgun outfit.

The smallest

Mossberg pump-action shotguns are available in 12 and 20-gauge but it was the smallest 500 model, chambered in .410, that I wanted to test. It left the factory with no moderator attached and as such, it makes for a really handy, lightweight shotgun capable of all vermin and pest control duties.

In my opinion, you can’t have too many different 410’s, buy one 12-gauge and then use the smaller calibres to really hone your skills. The smaller cartridge creates less recoil and noise while also making a successful hit that more satisfying.

The uncomplicated, almost tactile feeling of a pump-action is reliability personified, and with a full choked barrel, wood stock and great lightweight handling for £402, it’s hard to go wrong with this little Mozzy.

Action and controls

I have always liked the simple nature of a pump-action, albeit not the most elegant of designs. Its functionality and reliability certainly have much to do with their use as a vermin tool, they don’t tend to jam like a semi at the inopportune moment.

Being a .410, Mossberg has sized the action to scale with the cartridge and thus the aluminium action seems small and trim but with thick walls. Let’s be honest, it’s plain, with a black painted finish and slab sides with no decoration except a serial number and cross pins to secure the ejector and trigger mechanism. But that does not matter, you can scratch it and not worry.

The top of the receiver is not drilled and tapped for a scope mount like its larger brothers, which still bothers me as this calibre is crying out for a red dot sight fitment for ratting. Aftermarket options aren’t as good. The action slopes at the rear and houses the sliding safety catch, which is big and heavily ribbed for good adhesion. However, it is a little notchy to use and it’s not quiet. It operates with or without the action cocked and just blocks the trigger blade movement, but that’s all you need.

The trigger mechanism has a good-sized polymer guard and shows a smooth blued blade, which has a fair amount of take-up before the sear is released, but no problem at all.

There is no loading gate as you would find on a semi-auto, just a big hole to the underside of the action itself. So, two cartridges are easily fed into the magazine and then a lifter or carrier drops from below the bolt as you cock the action and a cartridge pops out on to it. As the action is closed, the lifter puts the cartridge into the path of the bolt as it closes, thus chambering the round.

story continues below...

The bolt itself is blued and has two large extractor claws opposing each other. A sprung steel ejector spur is screwed into the left inside face of the action wall and the bolt system runs smoothly on twin action bars fed from the forend.

Once cocked and loaded, the bolt is locked shut until the trigger is pulled. There is a small bolt release lever behind the trigger, protruding from the action, and it can be depressed to release the bolt to unload the shotgun if needed. The actual bolt throw is 4”, it is simple and very hard to jam, which makes these Mossberg pumps so user-friendly, even in the dark. In use, 2, 2½” or 3” shells work remarkably well, try that in a semi!

It is available as a section 2 shotgun, so 2+1 (one up the spout and two in the mag) or alternatively, there is a 5-shot FAC version.

Barrel

The .410 500 model is fitted with a 24” barrel. This makes it really lightweight and it handles much better, especially around the farmyard.

The 3” chambering comes as standard, but as mentioned, you can shoot any size .410 cartridge with no problems. The full choke is tight at 0.3895” and the barrel has thick 0.12” sidewalls. The rib is quite broad in comparison to the barrel diameter at 10mm, so all you see is the rib and the two sighting beads. There is a white bead near the muzzle and a brass one halfway down the rib when you mount the gun. In fact, it’s perfect as you are not distracted by the arcing curve of the barrel and just concentrate on the sightline.

The finish of the barrel is a sensible matt blue and attaches to the magazine tube by a single protruding collar. It is fastened by an end cap with QD swivel attached.

Stock

This model has a hardwood stock, which I prefer over the synthetic as it balances the gun better, plus it is still tough for rough usage. The forend is 8” long and 1.85” wide, with a rounded profile and scalloped finger rail to the top. There is a generous spread of chequering to the underside but it does not protrude enough for maximum grip, this is echoed on the pistol grip too.

The butt stock includes a QD swivel mount and has a slim pistol grip with no cast, plus quite a low comb. This works fine with the sighting arrangement and with the length of pull, which measures in at just over 14”. Overall, it doesn’t feel too small to handle. The large ventilated rubber recoil pad is very grippy and the overall matt lacquered finish is plain but practical.

In the field

The gun is light at 6.25 lbs, making it a joy to tout about. The fact it is not a show queen makes it ideal for rough shooting in all weathers. Yes, the action cycling is loud then the report is too, but this Mozzy’s agility and ability to use any .410 load negates those downsides anyway. I shot the short little 2” Eley fibre wad cartridges, loaded with 9-grams of #6 shot at a distance of 20 paces. There were only 23 strikes in the inner 15” ring of the pattern board while the other 43 appeared in the 30” circle. They were quite noisy, as the smaller payload still had a good charge behind it. Going to the Eley Fourlong, which is a 2.5” case, increases the load to 12.5 grams and now you have a choice of 5, 6 and 7 shot sizes and thus a more effective cartridge.

I still love the Hull Cartridge High Pheasants in .410, as they are superb performers and always hit hard and pattern well. This is a magnum 3” cartridge this time, with a plastic wad and loaded with 19-grams of #6 shot, so roughly 188 pellets. Shooting at 30 yards this time, we had great density to the patterns and 150 pellets struck within 30”. The split showed 82 inner hits and the remaining 68 around the periphery. That tight choke and plastic wad certainly keep the pattern together.

If you are after a subsonic load, quieter but not silent, then the Lyalvale Express Magnasonic are always impressive. These show 17-grams of #5 shot and at 30 yards with the full choke, the Mozzy patterned 34 pellets in the inner circle and 68 pellets in the outer regions, giving a total of 102 pellets. Again, a nice tight pattern and hardhitting with the bigger #5 shot. So, squirrels beware!

Conclusion

I really like it, I think everyone should own a good little .410 pumpaction as it spices up those vermin trips to the farm and won’t break the bank either. This Model 500 .410 is reliable, lightweight, shoots good patterns and is cost-effective, shame about the non-scope mount option though.

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Mossberg 500 pump action in .410 - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

gun
features

  • Name: Mossberg 500 410 pumpaction shotgun
  • Overall Length: 43.75”
  • Barrel: 24”
  • Choke: Full
  • Weight: 6.25 lbs
  • Sights: Brass mid bead and white muzzle bead
  • Trigger: Single-stage
  • Safety: Tang mounted
  • Price: £402
  • Contact: Viking Arms - www.vikingshoot.com

57 Comments

  • tadalafil pills https://tadalafilgenc.com/ tadalafil dosage <a href="https://tadalafilgenc.com/#">tadalafil 40 mg from india</a>

    Default profile image
    tadalafil 30 mg
    07 Jun 2021 at 08:14 AM
  • tadalafil 40 mg daily https://nextadalafil.com/ buy tadalafil us <a href="https://nextadalafil.com/#">tadalafil dosage</a>

    Default profile image
    tadalafil online
    06 Jun 2021 at 04:50 AM
  • tadalafil https://extratadalafill.com/ tadalafil 60 mg for sale <a href="https://extratadalafill.com/#">40 mg tadalafil</a>

    Default profile image
    buy tadalafil us
    06 Jun 2021 at 01:43 AM
  • tadalafil pills 20mg https://superactivetadalafil.com/ tadalafil 40 mg from india <a href="https://superactivetadalafil.com/#">tadalafil gel</a>

    Default profile image
    what is tadalafil
    05 Jun 2021 at 09:20 AM
  • generic tadalafil 40 mg https://pulmoprestadalafil.com/ tadalafil 40 mg from india <a href="https://pulmoprestadalafil.com/#">tadalafil 30 mg</a>

    Default profile image
    order tadalafil
    04 Jun 2021 at 06:16 PM
  • tadalafil online https://tadalafilgenc.com/ tadalafil tablets <a href="https://tadalafilgenc.com/#">tadalafil tablets</a>

    Default profile image
    tadalis sx
    04 Jun 2021 at 12:45 PM
  • I have to search sites with relevant information on given topic and provide them to teacher our opinion and the article.  菸彈

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:27 PM
  • This is also a very good post which I really enjoyed reading. It is not every day that I have the possibility to see something like this..  Relx菸彈

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:23 PM
  • It is extremely nice to see the greatest details presented in an easy and understanding manner.  犀利士 twxlssell.com

    Default profile image
    mrseooo khatri
    28 May 2021 at 02:20 PM
  • If you don"t mind proceed with this extraordinary work and I anticipate a greater amount of your magnificent blog entries 犀利士膜衣錠

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:15 PM
  • When your website or blog goes live for the first time, it is exciting. That is until you realize no one but you and your.  犀利士 ebuycialis.com

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:11 PM
  • A good blog always comes-up with new and exciting information and while reading I have feel that this blog is really have all those quality that qualify a blog to be a one.  威而鋼 Eviagramall.tw

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:05 PM
  • When your website or blog goes live for the first time, it is exciting. That is until you realize no one but you and your.  威而鋼官網

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    28 May 2021 at 02:00 PM
  • This is also a very good post which I really enjoyed reading. It is not every day that I have the possibility to see something like this..  Zonnepanelen Son en Breugel

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:18 PM
  • I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information EPS isolatie

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:17 PM
  • I was just browsing through the internet looking for some information and came across your blog. I am impressed by the information that you have on this blog. It shows how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this page, will come back for more.  Zonnepanelen Tilburg

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:13 PM
  • I have to search sites with relevant information on given topic and provide them to teacher our opinion and the article.  EPS isolatieplaten

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:12 PM
  • It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.  Spouwmuurisolatie Gent

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:08 PM
  • Three are usually cheap Ralph Lauren available for sale each and every time you wish to buy.  Zonnepanelen Someren

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:07 PM
  • They’re produced by the very best degree developers who will be distinguished for your polo dress creating. You’ll find polo Ron Lauren inside exclusive array which include particular classes for men, women.  Zonnepanelen Uden

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:03 PM
  • I have checked this link this is really important for the people to get benefit from.  EPS

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 08:03 PM
  • This is an excellent post I seen thanks to share it. It is really what I wanted to see hope in future you will continue for sharing such a excellent post.  Wat is spouwmuurisolatie

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:58 PM
  • I just got to this amazing site not long ago. I was actually captured with the piece of resources you have got here. Big thumbs up for making such wonderful blog page!  Zonnepanelen Reusel-De Mierden

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:58 PM
  • I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information   Zonnepanelen Valkenswaard

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:50 PM
  • Wow what a Great Information about World Day its exceptionally pleasant educational post. a debt of gratitude is in order for the post.  Voordelen spouwmuurisolatie

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:42 PM
  • It is the intent to provide valuable information and best practices, including an understanding of the regulatory process.  Zonnepanelen Veldhoven

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:38 PM
  • I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information Isolatiebedrijf

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:34 PM
  • This is really a nice and informative, containing all information and also has a great impact on the new technology. Thanks for sharing it,  Zonnepanelen Waalre

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:31 PM
  • I am really enjoying reading your well written articles. It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work.  Isolatie muur

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 07:27 PM
  • Awesome blog. I enjoyed reading your articles. This is truly a great read for me. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work!  Zonnepanelen Oisterwijk

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:40 PM
  • You re in point of fact a just right webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a fantastic activity on this subject!  EPS parels

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:36 PM
  • I’ve been looking for info on this topic for a while. I’m happy this one is so great. Keep up the excellent work Zonnepanelen Oirschot

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:31 PM
  • Personally I think overjoyed I discovered the blogs.  Muur isoleren

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:26 PM
  • Really nice and interesting post. I was looking for this kind of information and enjoyed reading this one.  Zonnepanelen Nederwetten

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:20 PM
  • It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.  Muurisolatie

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:12 PM
  • They’re produced by the very best degree developers who will be distinguished for your polo dress creating. You’ll find polo Ron Lauren inside exclusive array which include particular classes for men, women. Zonnepanelen Nuenen

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 05:05 PM
  • I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information Zonnepanelen Loon op Zand

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 04:54 PM
  • I want you to thank for your time of this wonderful read!!! I definately enjoy every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff of your blog a must read blog!  Spouwmuur isoleren

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 04:50 PM
  • I’m excited to uncover this page. I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new information in your site.  Zonnepanelen Laarbeek

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 04:46 PM
  • Glad to chat your blog, I seem to be forward to more reliable articles and I think we all wish to thank so many good articles, blog to share with us.  Spouwmuurisolatie

    Default profile image
    mrseooo khatri
    27 May 2021 at 04:41 PM
  • Gangaur Realtech is a professionally managed organisation specializing in real estate services where integrated services are provided by professionals to its clients seeking increased value by owning, occupying or investing in real estate.  Zonnepanelen Hilvarenbeek

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    27 May 2021 at 04:36 PM
  • Such a very useful article. Very interesting to read this article.I would like to thank you for the efforts you had made for writing this awesome article.  Airco Antwerpen

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:26 PM
  • I would also motivate just about every person to save this web page for any favorite assistance to assist posted the appearance.  Webdesign SEO Limburg

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:23 PM
  • You know your projects stand out of the herd. There is something special about them. It seems to me all of them are really brilliant!  Installateur zonnepanelen

    Default profile image
    mrseooo khatri
    21 May 2021 at 08:20 PM
  • The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought you have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.  Betaalbare website laten maken

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:17 PM
  • You completely match our expectation and the variety of our information. Vakantiehuis huren

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:15 PM
  • Such a very useful article. Very interesting to read this article.I would like to thank you for the efforts you had made for writing this awesome article.  Airconditioning Antwerpen

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:12 PM
  • You know your projects stand out of the herd. There is something special about them. It seems to me all of them are really brilliant!  Professioneel webdesign

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:10 PM
  • It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.  Betaalbaar webdesign

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:08 PM
  • With so many books and articles coming up to give gateway to make-money-online field and confusing reader even more on the actual way of earning money,  Airconditioning Limburg

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:05 PM
  • Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. Each & every tips of your post are awesome. Thanks a lot for sharing. Keep blogging,  Webdesigner Limburg

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:03 PM
  • You know your projects stand out of the herd. There is something special about them. It seems to me all of them are really brilliant!  Zonnepanelen

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 08:00 PM
  • I would also motivate just about every person to save this web page for any favorite assistance to assist posted the appearance.  Webdesign 2021

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 07:57 PM
  • Such a very useful article. Very interesting to read this article.I would like to thank you for the efforts you had made for writing this awesome article.  Ramen deuren

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 07:55 PM
  • It’s very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. You have opened my eyes to varying views on this topic with interesting and solid content.  Vakantiehuis Limburg

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 07:53 PM
  • This is a great article thanks for sharing this informative information. I will visit your blog regularly for some latest post. I will visit your blog regularly for Some latest post.  Webdesigner Antwerpen

    Default profile image
    mr seo
    21 May 2021 at 07:50 PM
  • This is great content for your side thanks for sharing us.
    http://lyricsandvoicez.com/blogs/post/122551

    Default profile image
    sophiaaseikh
    19 May 2021 at 12:51 PM


Arrow