Icon Logo Gun Mart

Air Arms S410 Classic

Air Arms S410 Classic

To use the words ‘all time classic’ may well fit this gun test by way of a play on words but it equally suits this rifle as the action is now undoubtedly accepted as a classic in design and function. No one can doubt the efficiency of the mechanism, I’ve several carbine versions in my armoury, but until now haven’t tested the full length rifle of this award winning multi-shot. So theoretically - besides a higher shot capacity - just what appeals to those who purchase the long gun over the shorty?  Here’s what I discovered.

Classic Woodwork

Obviously the stock is exactly the same design Air Arms changed to near four years ago; how time flies! The butt has a high, right hand, roll-over cheek piece that positions your head perfectly for the scope.

The forend is slim and tapers forward with a semi-Schnable tip. It’s ideally proportioned for most shooter’s leading hand too. The fleur-de-lys enhanced chequering is ideally positioned and in sufficient quantity as to afford the maximum grip for all situations. This applies to both contact areas equally. The relatively steep pistol grip now boasts a rosewood end cap with a maple spacer; even on the beech version. The neck at the grip is quite slim making this a very easy rifle to handle and hold. The beech timber is finished with a rich, brown, lacquered finish and a thick rubber ventilated butt pad at the shoulder completes the picture.

In my opinion this is still a very well designed stock (a walnut option is also available) and the full length rifle balances well in it, despite the extra length and even with the optional silencer being fitted. Overall length is 43.8” – that’s almost three inches more than the carbine.

Clean Air

On the underside of the stock just forward of the trigger guard there’s a small air pressure gauge, telling you at a glance the fill status in the lengthy reservoir. To fill; unscrew the well-sized front inlet valve cover and push the brass cap quick fill adaptor onto the stainless steel inlet valve. Internally there’s a sintered disc for filtering any undesirable elements such as dirt, moisture or grime. Just squirt in the recommended 190-bar, which will give up to 80-full power shots in .177 calibre or just over 100 in the .22 calibre (as per the test rifle). 

Cocking and cycling the action of the Classic comes courtesy of an ergonomically shaped ball end cocking bolt. This big, fist-filling matt finish aluminium lever is ideally positioned on the rear of the action. To remove the magazine, open the bolt where it will lock back to allow you to pull the magazine out from the left of the action. With the Perspex cover plate facing you, it’s a simple matter of popping a pellet into each of the ten empty chambers via a hole in the cover plate as you rotate the inner aluminium disc around. The mag is re-inserted into the left side of the action and the bolt closed and you are ready to go.

story continues below...

The magazine is ‘un-sprung’ so all the indexing is done as the bolt is operated for each shot. As the action closes the pellet is probed into the barrel ready to be fired.

The Third Element

For the field test I scoped up with a Hawke Map Pro 4 – 12 X 50AO with Map 6 reticle set in high two-piece mounts to clear the magazine, this was a neat looking set-up and upon testing proved a perfect pairing. Now although it’s been with us some time now, the manual trigger safety still stands out due to its simple and practical design. 

What you have is a cross bolt button actually set into the blade. Pushed from left to right it physically blocks the trigger from moving back to trip the sear. This is quite the simplest solution to on-gun safety. The upgraded 2-stage fully adjustable trigger unit is known as the ‘Third Element Trigger.’ Simple reason being there’s a third sear in the trigger mechanism helping to totally eradicate the merest possibility of creep, resulting in a trigger that can be adjusted very precisely.

The silencer is an optional extra but as a hunter I feel it’s a necessity. Air Arms own Pro 76 moderator is so efficient that I’ve no reason to fit any other unit, but if you prefer something different, an adaptor for screw on moderators is available from Best Fittings. I say this as the AA moddy is not threaded but slides onto the end of the barrel where it’s retained by a screw. Very neat, stylish and incredibly effective at reducing muzzle report. As for accuracy, this isn’t an issue as any version of this rifle will easily out perform the user.

After now having experienced all the S400/410 series of air rifles in most formats I can say with a fully informed view that they’re all very accurate, top class practical PCPs, yet still understatedly stylish.

Despite the introduction of the new S500/S510 series I’m sure the S400/410 will still prove to be as popular as they ever were.

We Reckon:
• If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!
• Dedicated moderator fitment
• Still one of the best choices for a multi-shot PCP

PRICE:
£532.80p Walnut option £597.92p
Optional Extra Air Arms Pro 76 Silencer £38.50p

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

  • Air Arms S410 Classic - image {image:count}

    click on image to enlarge

gun
features

  • Name: Air Arms S410 Classic
  • Type: Bolt Action PCP
  • Multi-Shot: Y
  • Calibre: .22 on test .177 available
  • Stock: Beech wood sporter
  • Sights: N
  • Grooved for scope mounting: Y
  • Barrel: 19.45”

27 Comments

  • I have an Air Arms s410 classic walnut for sale. Not used. With all original information. In new hard storage box. With new good quality sight included. I want to sell the lot for £700.00 Ono.  07952860471

    Default profile image
    Richie
    09 Nov 2018 at 05:57 PM
  • Purchased the s400-177 superlight a wow what a gun,great for targets at 50 yards,great grouping,have now purchased s410-22 superlight which is just as good,great stopping power,what ever your fancy air arms are top of my list,if your unsure go to your local range and ask,the people at millride are-great,every time I go its a fab education .

    Default profile image
    Torchey
    28 Oct 2015 at 04:05 PM
  • Got my 1st s410 around 8 years ago 2nd hand and it still performs perfectly today (had seals changed only once in that time) Since then I have got the carbine and the TDR version. These rifles have claimed 1000's of rabbits, squirrels, pigeons etc with ease and without any problems.
    Having used many makes of air rifles in my time none has improved my shooting ability and I doubt I will ever need another rifle, these are simply superb guns that if looked after will serve you a lifetime and believe me mine are used constantly.
    PS I do my own maintenance on them.

    Default profile image
    steve
    18 Jan 2015 at 10:23 AM
  • I taken one of these S410 in part exchange on my Daystate MK4is, never let me down, accurate rifle, does not leak, in fact my Daystate leaked and that cost £1200. I admit that you need to give the bolt a good tug to index the mag and load a pellet but once you get the feel of it and the technique you can do this one after the other with no problem. Good rifles and accurate. Believe me all rifles new or old, cheap or not cheap can play up and you will always read complaints more than you will recommendations.
    If your considering buying one don't be put off with some of the peoples reports on here or any other airgun forum, the rifle is bang on with accuracy and if looked after will not trouble you on the seals until they are ready for a service, like everything else they wear with use or if they leak from new the seals they used could of been deformed when they put them in new from the factory. Honest these are a good reliable and solid rifle and would recommend them for hunting anytime.

    Default profile image
    Peter Waine
    23 Sep 2014 at 07:39 PM
  • Looking for a 22. air arms s410

    Default profile image
    Tyler Tresidder
    16 Dec 2013 at 09:38 PM
  • Hi Gazza, I doubt if your Airsporter was more powerful than your S410 but a spring piston design can often seem to be more powerful due to the recoiling action felt by the shooter as the gun fires.

    PCPs are virtually recoilless, so you may just think it's underpowered. If in doubt, get it checked by a gunshop or gunsmith, especially if you are going to be using your rifle for vermin control.

    Default profile image
    Troll Hunter
    09 Sep 2013 at 08:30 PM
  • Quite some time since I'd shot an air rifle - last time was a BSA Airsporter in the 70's - I have to say the 410 seems ever so under powered compared to that - lever cock seemed so much more powerful than this stored air system
    Is it a legislation thing or could I have a duff one - pressure seems ok at 190

    Default profile image
    Gazza
    09 Sep 2013 at 07:31 PM
  • Had my 410 10 months and i would say it is the best value gun on the market out shoots other rifles of mine that cost over £200.00 more

    Default profile image
    Ray Moore
    12 May 2013 at 02:34 PM
  • I use this daily in my work. over 1500 pellets through it so far and each shot as consistent as the last. I'm very impressed & the accuracy is simply perfect. No excuses with this gun if you miss! None of issues sometimes reported with the mags. I have two and both function spot on even under rapid reloading for a quick shot at another target. My rifle is used in all conditions - rain, snow and at minus 9 degres and has functioned perfectly. I could not reommend this more highly as a professional shooter. It makes my work humane, very efficient and the gun a real pleasure to own. For balance, see my review of the nitro vemom !

    Default profile image
    Greyman
    19 Jan 2013 at 11:13 PM
  • Take the rifle back and get them to give you a replacement. You've paid good money for something that quite clearly isn't fit for purpose.

    Default profile image
    Troll Hunter
    18 Jan 2013 at 05:18 PM
  • It sounds to me that you definitely have a leak on your gun . You should not let the pressure in your bottle to drop below 100 bar especially if you intend not to use your gun for a period of time. If you do the lack of pressure in your reservoir will cause the seals in your gun to shrink and crack. So when you fill your gun up again your seals will expand and crack even more causing the gun to leak air . The s410 is a fantastic gun if you get the seals sorted you will soon find out its a very accurate gun. I hope you get it sorted out mate . All the best

    Default profile image
    philip bruton
    18 Jan 2013 at 04:15 PM
  • Im gutted and really cheesed of with my new s410. I haven't really shot any rifle for five years, when I recommended s410 due to its lightness and me suffering joint pain. I ordered and like a child at Christmas I couldn't wait. I ordered new scope and silencer with spare magazine with new bag. When I picked it up it had half charge. Took me ten rounds to set up scope at forty yards. Then the reservoir emptied itself. I tried cocking it, firing it and recocking, nothing I tried stopped it. 150 bar gone in under a minute. Gutted I took it home and tried to recharge it with my trusty stirrup pump to no avail, just in one end and out the barrel wether it was cocked or not, cocked and loaded or not, nothing allowed me to charge it. Some reviews said this happens hen it falls below fifty bar whilst others claim it to be 100 bar. Mine did it at 140 as I had fired ten rounds. I took it back to gunsmiths they looked at it and used a charging bottle which instantly charged it to 130. I got it home and couple hours later I heard a hissing, following the niose, it was my s410 discharging. Annoyed the following day I bought a air bottle from gun shop and drove home planning my shoot. Only to continue face disappointment, the bottle is 300 bar and was told it be full, only it won't charge my s410 classic. I tried the bottle on my Brocock, it filled it nicely, three times in one day of continuedshooting so I know bottle is OK as brocock takes same charge as the s410, 190bar. I'm furious,i its cost me a grand on this s410 and I can't use it

    Default profile image
    josephine
    18 Jan 2013 at 12:06 PM
  • Looking to buy a pcp rifle (currently own 6 month old weihrauch hw90k) and so far the AAs400 classic seems to be the best of the mid price range. With all the kit can buy for shade under £700.

    Watch this space!!!

    Default profile image
    ray
    07 Dec 2012 at 12:51 AM
  • Bought s410 secondhand . After just one day found out seals were leaking. Gun went back to air arms. Received gun back after two weeks .gun was fully serviced and new seals fitted...all free of charge....no more problems since .....the 410 is a fine air rifle and very accurate. A well made....well balanced...accurate....piece of kit....I would buy another air arms rifle again

    Default profile image
    phil
    26 Sep 2012 at 09:03 PM
  • Bought my S410F Cassic .22 in Feb 2012 with AA moderator and NikkoSterling 3-9x40 AO mountmaster scope. First ever air rifle. Checked the mainstream mags to decide which one I wanted. Lucky that the dealer is only 1/2 a mile away as it was a bit more expensive than with some other outlets, but I saved on the mileage. Dealer showed me how to fit the scope & explained how to zero it, but fitted it myself later at home & sorted it. Absolute piece of cake to set up. Lovely understated but good looking weapon. I'm 60yrs old, but still managed to get quite good groups @ 10 mtrs after a couple of mags. Didn't think that was too shabby 4 an old fart!! Since then I've bought the air tank, put in excess of 1000 pellets through it, (the rifle, not the tank), all at varying sized targets and cannot fault it's accuracy, (the misses were my errors), build quality, and I've had no problems with the magazine action. It's been secure and indexed perfectly. Delighted with the whole package.

    Default profile image
    Ian
    01 Jul 2012 at 04:19 PM
  • Air Arms 410 magazines are usually very reliable. Have you tried another magazine? You might find it'll work with another mag and if so, it's the indexing mechanism at fault. It might be the little brass actuator that's playing up.

    Have you called Air Arms? They're very helpful and I'm sure you'll get all the help you need.

    Let us know how you get on.

    Default profile image
    Troll Hunter
    20 Jun 2012 at 07:07 PM
  • getting pisssed of with mine magazines are a bloody nightmair always sticking ,going to get shot of it if i cant rectify the problem,,any advice amigos

    Default profile image
    will
    20 Jun 2012 at 06:13 PM
  • I have had an air arms s410 for a year and after 11 months I had to have the seals replaced which to long however since I got it back I have shot 7 rabbits 2 doves 3 crows 6 squirels and 2 pigons this gun has outstanding accuracy and would recommend this gun to anyone looking for an accurate hunter without a large price tag !!

    Default profile image
    Oz
    31 May 2012 at 12:54 PM
  • I bought new gun in oct 2010. Had the same problems as above magizine popping out when cocking. Under powered, chroned at 10.2 lbs. Not so good for rabbits. Sent it back to air arms under warranty. still there, hope it doesnt take as long as 12 weeks or will not be happy nor will air arms.

    Default profile image
    andrew
    01 Nov 2010 at 09:09 PM
  • I bought a S-4oo from euro guns, fired less than 100 shots before said gun started leaking air.
    the gun was fixed for free as I had only had it a few week.
    I then moved on to shotgus and sold the air rifle to a friend, the friend only had it a month before it started leaking off air yet again, this gun as had less than a tin of pellets though it and it as had to go back for repair 3 times.
    never again will I buy a airarms.

    Default profile image
    Mark butterley
    11 Sep 2010 at 06:53 PM
  • This is the first PCP air rifle I have ever owned. I've read the postings on the air arm S-410 and all I can say is there is nothing like it !!! I was able to sight my S-410 in with 4 shots. My back yard is only 75'. I started out shooting poker chips then went to straws then to golf tee's they were no match for this rifle so I set tooth picks up and was able to hit all 4 in 5 shots. I have spring rifles that don't even come close but still love them. As of now I will never get rid of this S-410. I'm a believer in the Air Arms Rifles.
    Best, HPH.

    Default profile image
    Howard P. Hill
    05 Sep 2010 at 10:15 AM
  • Sadly my S410 Classic failed on it's first outing. I bought the rifle at Christmas time '09. After the Christmas madness I got the rifle out for it's first session in the field on new years day. I zeroed the rifle with the first magazine and was smiling from ear to ear at my new rifle's handling and accuracy. On the twelfth shot I ever fired with this brand new rifle a valve between the air reservoir and breech did not close and all the air vented down the barrel in about five minutes. 170 bar just went to nothing and I could not stop it. I re-cocked the action. I reconnected it to my air cylinder and tried to top it up. Nothing stopped the venting. It was sent back to Air Arms for repair.

    A disgraceful two months later (how many new rifles can Air Arms make in two months I wonder?) it arrived back in my hands. I was pleased to see the rifle back but was upset it took two months to get it sorted.

    Unfortunately it wasn't sorted. It failed again in exactly the same way, this time after a couple of hundred shots and a couple of refills.

    Once again the shop sent the rifle back to the manufacturer under warranty. They promised it would be back much sooner than last time. Twelve weeks later, twelve long ridiculous weeks, it is now back in my hands. It appears to be OK after 500 shots and shoots beautifully, just like it should have in the first place.

    Air Arms has the worst customer service I have ever had the misfortune to be stuck with.

    I love the rifle and want to keep it but I will not buy another new rifle from Air Arms ever again.

    Great rifle over all but the poorest backup ever.

    Default profile image
    Stu Haggarty
    22 Jul 2010 at 11:55 PM
  • Trouble with the mag and it would loose air, after sales bad

    Default profile image
    PETER
    03 Jul 2010 at 08:27 PM
  • Hi!, I maybe you've tried this allready, but on the top of the gun there are two little screws holding a little plate that holds your magazine.

    If you unscrew them a bit so that the plate can move,
    then insert your magazine
    and then push the plate to the left (towards the magazine) and then tighten the screw again.. that should fix your problem. It did with mine anyways,,.

    good luck

    Default profile image
    niels veenstra
    31 Mar 2010 at 07:45 PM
  • Without seeing the rifle I can't really diagnose the problem. However, if it as bad as you claim, and you bought the rifle new (in the UK), then you have the right to take it back to the retailer that sold it, and have it replaced or get a refund as it is not 'fit for purpose'. This is nothing to do with the warranty, it's a statutary right.

    Alternatively, you can contact the manufacturer (Air Arms) direct and ask them for advice.

    Default profile image
    pat farey
    18 Mar 2010 at 12:46 AM
  • HI i brought an air arms 410 a couple of years ago ,and have been really dissapointed with mine , the magazine jumps out each time i re load , it is very stiff to turn the magazine round , does not seem to be very powerfull i have had it back in the shop 3 times , having brought a new magazine , and a full service sadly no better , any ideas . jp

    Default profile image
    jane place
    17 Mar 2010 at 06:12 PM
  • This is very accurate and i have just bought it it took me 20 shots to zero it. I totaly agreey with you.

    Default profile image
    owner of this gun
    01 Mar 2010 at 06:16 PM


guns for sale

Buy & Sell Online. Advertise your guns and accessories and be seen by 1000’s of buyers..... Buying a Gun or Accessory, Choose from 1000's of items for sale....

Arrow